23 November – The Day the Earth Stands Still for Doctor Who 50th


While we wouldn’t have expected anything less from the greatest Traveling Time Lord of all-time (yes, including both Gort and Klaatu), this is perhaps the coolest thing on the planet since…(nothing to insert here). Designed to avoid plot leaks or spoilers that with the technology that exists today is virtually impossible, the 50 years in the making special 3-D episode of Doctor Who will be globally simulcast in approximately 200 countries around the world on November 23. The BBC announced its plans last week for the long-awaited episode of Doctor Who, which will air at 7:00p on BBC One in the UK with an 2p ET/1p CT/11a PT start on BBC America in the States.

It’s always been our ambition to work with our broadcast partners so that international ‘Doctor Who’ fans can enjoy the 50th Anniversary special at the same time as the UK. We’ll have more details soon about our very exciting global plans for November“, said BBC Worldwide, the BBC’s commercial arm, in a statement.
 
Doctor_Who_50th_anniversary_special_to_be_broadcast_around_the_world_simultaneously

The planned global telly simulcast, expected to reach more than 100 million viewers, is being billed as the biggest global drama simulcast in history. It will also be screened in cinemas in the UK.

Somewhat fittingly for a show about a time lord, it looks like ‘Doctor Who’ fans around the world are going to have to set their alarm clocks to make sure that they catch the series’ 50th Anniversary Special this November,” The Hollywood Reporter notes. Somehow, any true Doctor Who fan won’t need an alarm clock. We all know they won’t be going to sleep the night before…