As America lines up 'Mr. Selfridge' for their post-Downton Abbey viewing, Alfie Boe heads to Selfridges this Sunday in the UK.


This just in. America is on high alert. With only one week to go in series 4 of Downton Abbey, telly watchers are already in a quandary as to how to spend Sunday evenings and satisfy their insatiable drama needs. PBS has the answer, as usual.

Beginning Sunday, March 30, not only will the third series of Call the Midwife return to PBS at 8p ET/7p CT, the second series of Mr. Selfridge will follow at 9p ET/8p CT continuing the Sunday night Downton Abbey/Sherlock “must-see-TV” trend on PBS. Both series will run for eight weeks through May 18.
 

 
UK Mr. Selfridge alert – Alfie Boe guests this Sunday, 23 February

UK viewers of Mr. Selfridge are a bit ahead of the game as series 2 began on ITV1 back on 19 January. Pay particular attention to episode 6 this coming Sunday as English tenor, Alfie Boe, guest stars as music hall tenor, Richard Chapman. Seems as though Harry Selfridge needs to find a headline act for a patriotic concert to be held at Selfridge’s to raise money for the troops. While Victor (Trystan Gravelle), Agnes (Aisling Loftus), Miss Mardle (Amanda Abbington) and Florian (Oliver Farnworth) enjoy the music hall concert, Lady Mae, played by Katherine Kelly, is waiting for him backstage to ask if he will sing.
 

 
Not to worry, U.S. fans. This episode will air in May as part of PBS’ Masterpiece series.