Benedict Cumberbatch trades his kingdom for a horse in ‘The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses’

Based on Shakespeare’s four distinct works, Henry VI, Part I, Henry VI, Part II and Henry VI, Part III (condensed into one film), and Richard III, the second installment of The Hollow Crown franchise features a cast that reads like a who’s who in British acting. Subtitled “The Wars of the Roses”, Shakespeare’s first tetralogy will star Benedict Cumberbatch as Richard III, Sophie Okonedo as Queen Margaret, Hugh Bonneville as Gloucester, Keeley Hawes as Queen Elizabeth, Dame Judi Dench as Cecily, Duchess of York, Michael Gambon as Mortimer, Philip Glenister as Talbot, James Fleet as Hastings and Andrew Scott as King Louis just to name a few.

Benedict Cumberbatch as Richard III

Scheduled for broadcast on BBC2 and PBS, the second cycle of The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses will premiere on Saturday, 7 May on BBC2 as part of the wider BBC celebration of 400 years since Shakespeare’s death. Unfortunately, for PBS audiences it will be a bit before we get to see Benedict Cumberbatch attempt to trade his kingdom for a horse with a tentative broadcast date set in December of this year. Yes, it’s a long time but think about this way. It will lead perfectly into the new Sherlock episodes that have very unofficially been teased for a January 2017 premiere.

The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses will premiere Saturday, 7 May, on BBC2 and December 2016 on PBS.

In: Drama